We are in the middle of a string of birthdays around here.

Though, as our family grows, I suppose that’s inevitable.

My 7-year old monkey turned 8 recently.

I whipped together some cupcakes for her and placed them on a cupcake holder that the girls all love.

It’s been used many times.

Here’s the thing.

There is one more cupcake holder that goes on the top in the center.

We didn’t use it this time.

Here’s why …

Muffin (cupcake) pans make 12 muffins/cupcakes.

Recipes make 12 muffins/cupcakes.

This display thingy hold 13.

13!

This all makes me more frustrated because, not only am I very busy these days but, I only have one muffin pan.  So, I’d have to bake each batch separately.

With the size of my family, clearly I should have bought a second one a long time ago.

However, it still makes me think, Seriously?!

It’s like the whole hot dogs and buns thing.

They’re never sold in the same quantities.

Which reminds me of the scene in the movie Father of the Bride with Steve Martin, when he goes to the grocery store and freaks out over the hot dog and bun quantity discrepancy.

If you haven’t seen it, you should.

We really like that movie.

Then, Texas Guy had a birthday.

This time we made a cake.

He’s older than 8 now.

Here’s the thing …

More than eight candles …

… melts the buttercream frosting

That didn’t stop us from eating the entire cake.

Not all in one day, of course.

But, it didn’t take long!

