What’s your pet peeve?

I read this question recently.

I thought about it.

Then I had to think about it some more.

What about you?

What’s your pet peeve?

Or do you have more than one?

Did you have trouble thinking of one or did they pop right up in your mind?

I couldn’t think of one.

But, it did get me thinking.

First, I began to wonder if my idea of a pet peeve was correct or far off.

Maybe I couldn’t think of one because I was going about it all wrong.  Maybe my idea of a pet peeve was incorrect.

So, I looked it up.  From what I have gathered, a pet peeve is a minor annoyance that an individual rarely misses the opportunity to complain about, or at the very least, complains about often and it can oftentimes be something that one person finds much more annoying than another person.

So, I was close.  That was my understanding of the term.

Here’s what it left me thinking … wondering …

Are our lives really so simple, easy, and problem free that we can spend our time, thoughts, and energy in such a negative way on minor annoyances?

And it really struck me, how sad it is that we might rarely miss an opportunity, or at the very least frequently, complain about something.

That makes me so sad.

Because that makes us not such a great person to be around at times … and just think of all the wonderful small things we are not enjoying while we are too busy being annoyed.

This is my sad face 😦

(OK, that’s not really me.  But maybe a good likeness of me.)

I think pet peeves are oftentimes a manners issue.  … At least based on the responses I read to the question.

Obviously, there are some issues that can be addressed … and some that should be left alone.  But, it’s just something to be addressed, something to work on, towards a positive end.  Not something so negative as a pet peeve.

If someone is chewing with their mouth open at the table next to you … they’re not at your table, so focus on something else.  Easy.

(Or is that easy because I am a mom and I have mastered ignoring annoying?  It’s a sanity saver.  Keeps me happy.)

If your child chews with his/her mouth open, you just have to try to help him/her remember to use their manners.  …  And help in a loving way.  …  It gets better results.

If it’s your spouse, you can simply address it: Babe, the meal you have prepared is so delicious and you have presented it beautifully at the table.  I’d like to remember it like this, rather than all chewed up in your mouth as you talk.  – OR – Dear, I am so happy that you enjoy my cooking so much.  A simple word or compliment is fine.  I’d hate for you to have to keep talking with a mouth full of it.  But, I do so appreciate the effort.

What?

Oh.  No.  That’s not really how we talk in our house either.

Ummm … actually, sometimes it is.

We have an odd sense of humor.

Maybe, it would be a good idea to review those pet peeves.

And then review our attitude about the issue and how we are addressing it.

I think a few changes in our own viewpoints and attitudes might make our lives a little happier.

And by virtue of the ripple effect, we might help other people’s lives be a little happier.

How cool is that?!

