Yesterday, I was talking about pet peeves and, in a somewhat related way, manners.  And I got to thinking about our manners inside our own home with our family.  And how to address any issues with our family members.

And it reminded me of this story I’d like to share with you.

Many years ago, I had a friend that lived in the same apartment complex as I did.  We both had one child, both boys, both the same age.  The boys enjoyed playing with one another and we enjoyed spending time together.  We lived in an area where the weather was almost always perfect.  So we usually met outside.  And aside from borrowing an egg or a cup of milk, we weren’t inside each others apartments very often.

One day, I was over at her apartment and she was cleaning their dining room table.  The entire table top was glass.  The table seated four people.  However, it was just her and her husband that used it.  Their son sat in a high chair.  But she had five place mats on the table – one at each chair and one in the middle.  As she removed all of the place mats and the napkin holder, salt & pepper shakers, etc., cleaned the glass table top, and put everything back in its place, she was telling me how hard it was to keep a glass table clean, especially with a little boy who is now walking.  I suggested she not use place mats, especially so many.  It all just made the chore more work, more time-consuming.

She then explained that her husband insists on eating breakfast at the table,  …  as soon as he wakes up in the morning,  …  naked.

The placemats were strategically placed there for a purpose.  However, she complained, they still didn’t really solve (or cover) the problem.  She just didn’t know what to do.

I was speechless.

That was 20 years ago.

And if I saw her today, I still wouldn’t know what to suggest.

Well, I have lots of suggestions.

Who are we fooling?!

But, I just wouldn’t be able to pick one.

So, I’d still be speechless.

By the way ….

I like to include at least one pic in my posts.  But, I don’t have one this time.

No need to thank me.

I know how much you appreciate it.  ;D

