Texas Guy loves those sandies cookies.  On one of our first grocery trips together he saw some on display near the door and excitedly grabbed a package.  As we walked away he was telling me how much he likes these cookies.  Then he walked back and grabbed another package.  While placing it in the cart, he looked at me and said, “They’re on sale.”

I had never tried them before.  And as I looked at them, I didn’t have any inclination to try them.  When we were finished shopping and had loaded the groceries into the truck, Texas Guy grabbed a package and opened them up.  He insisted I had to try one.

Now, let me explain.  I like to make good use of the calories, fat, and sugar I consume.  Especially if I’m going to eat something that’s not exactly “healthy”.  I want to really make it worth it.  But, with everything I eat, I want my taste buds to sing to the heavens about the glorious combination of textures and flavors.  And it doesn’t hurt to have my other sense join the party.  If my eyes can enjoy the beauty and my nose can revel in the scent, all the better.

I tried one.  The heavens did not hear a peep out of my taste buds.  There was no party.

Life has been a juggling act lately … as I’ve mentioned.  On top of all that is going on in our home and family, Texas Guy has been working a lot.  He now works six days a week, making an effort to reserve Sunday for family time, starting the day at church together turning our focus on the Lord.

So, here at home, we try to consider Texas Guy in all that we do.  As I was thinking about how hard he has been working, I wanted to do something for him.  Something that might make his day a bit brighter, might make the load he carries feel a bit lighter.  I typically think homemade is better.  My dining room is my favorite place to eat.  And it is much much less expensive.  So, I decided to try to create his favorite cookie.  Those sandies.  I wasn’t excited about them, but this was for Texas guy, not me.  …  They were delicious!!  My senses had a party!

I hope yours do, too.

Slammin’ Sandies

Because all I hear from Texas Guy each time he grabs a handful is,

“These things are slammin’!!”

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cream of tartar

1 tsp salt

2 cups chopped pecans (tiny pieces)

6 oz English toffee bits

additional sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 350°.

In a bowl, cream the butter and sugars together.  Add oil, eggs, and extract; mix well.

In another bowl sift together the flours, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt; then gradually add to the butter-sugar mixture.

Stir in the pecans and toffee bits.

Shape into 1-in balls.  Roll in sugar.  Place on ungreased baking sheets and flatten with a fork just once.

Bake for 12-14 minutes until lightly browned.

Makes about 4 dozen scrumptious cookies.

