I wasn’t going to blog today.

I have so much to do.

What else is new.

I really do have some major things to take care of and I’m trying to reach that goal.

But I clearly won’t be getting most of it done today.

The children are all bathed and in bed.

And I think I’ve just about wore myself out.

So, I will blog because there’s something I’d like to share with you.

Then maybe I can get Texas Guy to sit and watch a movie with me.

That’s my plan anyway  …

Last night was Family Game Night at church.

Once a month, we gather in the Fellowship building, snack on yummy “finger foods”, and play board games, card games, etc.

It starts right about the girls’ bedtime.  And even though it’s on a Friday night, Texas Guy works six days a week, so it’s not “his Friday”.  It’s a really late night for all of us.  Texas Guy and I are usually dragging ourselves out the door when all we really want to do is stay home.

But, in the end, we are always glad when we decide to spend time with our church family.

I took a break from playing Uno to feed the baby.  I sat on the other side of the room, hoping she would be less distracted and fall asleep.  She did eat.  She did not fall asleep.  Drat.

While I was sitting there, the realization of my life in this small town hit me.

It does this sometimes.

And in different ways.  …  Sometimes it’s in a this is totally cool sort of way.  Sometimes it’s  in a Wow, we are so blessed sort of way.  And sometimes it’s in a total Oh my holy heck culture shock sort of way.  That last one always cracks me up.

Anyway …

There I sat, removed from all the activity.  Just watching.

I could see Texas Guy, who works so much and still makes time for his family, who is burning the candle at both ends constantly, who has a huge amount of weight to carry on his shoulders right now.  It was so good to see him sitting there playing Uno, laughing, relaxing, and if at least for a short while, having a good time.

I could see the girls.  They are as close as any two sisters could be.  And there they were, paired up as a team against a teenager, playing a game of checkers and enjoying all the snacks.

Sitting there on the other side of the room, I watched my family enjoying one of the benefits to life in a small town.  A church activity that is a small gathering of friends and faces, not a big mess of people and noise.  A casual evening not a night on a schedule.

I’m actually not at all opposed to lots of people and noise or a night filled and scheduled.  I’m a city girl.  I really like that stuff.  Sometimes I need that stuff.

But, this was one of those wonderful realizations of how very cool my life in a small town is.

