I woke up the other day and it was my birthday.

Like every other birthday, for as long as I can remember, I had the same thought – I don’t feel any older.

When I was much younger, this was a big disappointment.

Now … not so much.

This birthday was a momentous one.

I’m 40!!

Determined not to repeat the ridiculousness of  my 30th birthday, I woke up ready to take on the day and start a new day with a new age.

Then I got a bit upset and decided that getting older would be easier if Texas Guy would stop reminding me that I’m older than he is.

I mean, he’s not much older.

We’re talking minutes here.

OK, maybe more like days.

Or weeks.

Or … oh heck, let’s not split hairs, shall we?!

But, I would think that my ravishing beauty would leave him too twitterpated to tease me about my age.

OK.  Fine.

Maybe not.

Then my dad sent me a birthday text.

Because my cell signal didn’t put his call through and so my birthday didn’t start with his rousing rendition of the Happy Birthday song.  …  I was so disappointed.

Anyway, his text mentioned that he has a child that is 40!!!!!!

Gave me a whole new perspective.

He does that to me.

Whether I want a new perspective or not.

Drat.

But, this new perspective was wonderful.

I may be 40.  But I don’t have a child that is 40!!

I was going to tell you all about my day, but there are pictures I want to include also.  So I’m concerned this post will end up far too long.

Besides, I was supposed to start dinner at least 30 minutes ago.

And there’s still floors and bathrooms to clean.

And, of course, laundry to fold.

So, next time.

I can’t wait to share it with you!

(But the natives have even more trouble waiting to be fed!)

Then later I’ll share about my cell signal and the term twitterpated.

