I had a birthday the other day.

I woke up and the calendar said I was a year older.

I got out of bed, put my feet on the floor, and hit the day running.

Isn’t that how most days start?

The beds needed clean linens, the carpet needed to be vacuumed, and of course, there was plenty of laundry.

There were other things that needed to be done, but I ran out of time.

Isn’t that how most days end?

As usual, there were meals to prepare.

But, today was my birthday!

So I was going to make one of my favorite dishes!

Terrific Tetrazzini

Yummers!

It’s not Texas Guy’s favorite though.

It’s pasta.  There are lots of vegetables.  And there isn’t any meat.

Texas Guy likes meat.

But it was my birthday!

It smelled so good!  I wish you could smell it.  I’ll share the recipe with you later.

Then, for the matter of a birthday cake.

I realized that what I really wanted was pie.

Banana Cream Pie

When I was a child, my grandmother would call a few days before my birthday and ask me what kind of pie I wanted.  She would stress to me that I could pick ANY kind I wanted it and that it would be MY pie.  Each year I chose banana cream.  Every time.  …  Grandma passed away a few years ago.  It’s my turn to make my birthday pie.  Of course, I chose banana cream pie!

It was perfect!  It tasted just like I remembered.  It reminded me of Grandma.

I’ll share the recipe with you later.

While I did the cooking and cleaning for the day, the girls did a wonderful job of putting together the celebration details!

They made a beautiful birthday banner.

With pompom and string “balloons”.

With lots and lots of glitter!  They know a girl likes sparkles!

And I will be remembering my birthday for a long long while, each time a piece of glitter sparkles in the carpet … all over the house.

And, knowing what a girl likes, they embellished around my place setting and the pie with their “treasures”.

My oldest daughter, who is so far away, text me throughout the day with birthday wishes and reminding me to call her on the webcam so we could celebrate together.

Texas Guy took a picture of us doing some sort of party dance.  I have no idea what we were doing.  We didn’t know he was taking a picture, either.  So, now the moment has been captured and cannot be explained.

Then we thought we’d take a family picture of sorts.

Then we tried to pretend we were normal.

We wrapped up the day unwrapping presents.

The girls had gathered some items, wrapped them in lovely, soft tissues, and tied them with a cheerful collection of ribbons.

Check out my loot!

I ended the day with the girls asleep in their beds and Texas Guy and I cuddled up on the couch watching a Cary Grant movie from the 1930’s.

I just love those movies.

I had a wonderful birthday!!

