← Day 7 in California

Day 8!

Our trip is almost over.

But, it wasn’t over yet!  …  So, here we go!!

Our little Bug woke up and decided she wanted to stay with Grandma and Grandpa for the day.

After all our running around and late nights, she was ready to veg.

Sometimes she likes to be home.  She likes to relax.  She sometimes prefers puzzles, a good book, or time to color.  …  And she had been looking forward to playing with the Lincoln Logs at Grandma and Grandpa’s house since before we left our Texas home.  She hadn’t had much time to play with them.  So it was Lincoln Logs with Grandma and Grandpa that really interested her that morning.

The rest of us smothered our Bug with kisses and headed out the door for the day with plans to meet up with her and my parents around dinner time.

First on our day was to finally hit the beach and swim!

Also, I knew exactly what I wanted for lunch.

So I knew exactly where to go …

Hot Dog on a Stick!!

But not just any ol’ place  …  The original location where the first one opened  …  in 1946  …  at Muscle Beach in Santa Monica, California!!

(Oh my gracious, when did they get so expensive?!?!)

Oh, yeah, baby!  Mmmm, mmm, mmm!

Sweet Pea and I each got a hot dog on a stick, and we shared a cheese on a stick (American, thank you), and a nice cold, fresh squeezed, lemonade (original).

It was perfect!

Exactly what I was looking for!

The best corndogs I’ve ever had.

And for some reason, it always tastes best here, at this location.

Texas Guy took one look at the price and said forget it  …  and went and found a hamburger and fries.

He doesn’t know what he missed.

After we finished, it was time to head down to the water to swim.

Always a good idea to swim right after eating.

Trust me.

But first, to cross the burning hot sand.

Then set up right near the red flag …

… that was waving to warn swimmers that there was no swimming there due to a strong rip current.

Notice, we were near the flag.  Not inside the no swim zone.  We’re not crazy!

We didn’t stay long, but it felt good to be there.

Sweet Pea immediately found a girl to play with, dug in the sand, played in the water, and found this mass of seaweed.

Texas Guy got to swim at last.  …  Except when the lifeguards kept pulling people in.

(It was a serious rip current.)

I have no idea what Sweet Pea is doing here.  …  The child is full of energy and sometimes the camera catches moments like this.

And the baby and I enjoyed the sand, the sun, and the water.

But I can’t do all that and take pictures of us  … so, I must settle for sharing this horrible picture of me  …  and my terrible posture  …  try to focus on the baby, it’s less painful.

We couldn’t stay long because we had plans to meet some friends at the Will Rogers State Park.

I was so excited to see these friends from high school and to go to the park again that I completely forgot to take pictures!!

I’m so very very sad.

But, it is due to the fun I had seeing my friends and how much I enjoy the park that I forgot to take pictures.

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love these two friends.

They are part of the reason why I smiled as much as I did in high school.

Here’s why I love this park  …

1. You can sit on the grass and watch a polo match … free.  Bring a picnic lunch or snacks, wear a great hat, have a friend – or two, or more – join you, watch the polo match and don’t forget to participate in divot stomping!  …  Wearing a great hat is part of the fun!

2. The lawn in front of Will Roger’s home is a great place to hang out, have another picnic (yes, another, why not?), and play some catch or frisbee or something.

3.  You can sit on the porch in one of the rockers, looking out over the large lawn and know why it must have been a wonderful, beautiful, peaceful place to live.

4.  The tour of the house  …  I could go on and on.  But, you really must go yourself.  We had a fantastic tour guide this time!!

5.  There are also hiking and horseback trails.  I haven’t had a chance to check those out yet. …  But, I hope to!

We were there with just enough time to visit, and take the last tour.

There was one more thing we had planned.  …  So off we went!

We were headed to the Getty Center for dinner and a look around.

My parents were supposed to meet us there with Bug.  But, their day got busy and they weren’t able to meet us.

We went to the Getty Center in Los Angeles  …  Not the one in Malibu.

And on our short drive there, I witnessed Texas Guy slowly turn into an L.A. driver.

My eyes got all misty.

I was so very proud.

‘sniff sniff’

When we got there, we decided to grab a snack to tide us over, look around, and then grab dinner later.

We ate outside with a fantastic view of Los Angeles.

Then we walked around the gardens

Well, not all the gardens.

But, what we saw was beautiful.

Then it started to get dark and chilly.

So we went to look around inside.

After looking at some amazing paintings, we left to head back to my parents’ house.

But, we stopped on our way out to look at the different water features.

On our way back to my parents’ house, the girls fell asleep.

But we were still hungry for dinner.

Not surprisingly, Texas Guy wanted Tommy’s again.

YUM!!

Day 9 in California … And Heading Back →

