My aunt had a way of defining “comfort food”.

She said that “comfort food” was warm and squishy.

I had never thought about it.

But, she was very good at identifying feel-good things in life.

I like her definition.

The other day, when I was staring at my cupboard trying to figure out what to feed my family, I remembered something my mom used to make when I was a child.

Something I had never made in the decades since I moved out of my parent’s house.

I don’t know why I’d never made it.  I really liked it.

Creamed Tuna on Toast

Here’s the thing about Creamed Tuna on Toast …

In my opinion, it’s very colorless and blah looking.

Not to mention kind of gross looking.

But, it’s so delicious.

(“doolicious” as our Sweet Pea says)

And, according to my aunt’s definition, it totally qualifies as a comfort food.

That’s when I realized, her definition is exactly why I like it.

I served it up and placed it in front of the girls.

They looked at it like it was the enemy.

Sweet Pea tried it first.  And she liked it right away.

Our Bug is a bit of a picky eater.  She picked at the toast for a while.  Then at the other foods on her plate.  Then finally tried some.  …  And she liked it, too.

Texas Guy loved it.

Yay!  It is now a part of my recipe collection!

It’s a simple recipe that most people probably have.

It’s very quick and easy to make.

I will be teaching Sweet Pea how to make it very soon.

And it fits nicely into a meal plan on a budget.

I’d like to share it with you just in case you don’t have it.  Or just in case you’ve forgotten.

Enjoy!

Creamed Tuna on Toast

1 Tbsp butter

1 Tbsp flour

1/4 – 1/2 tsp salt (to taste)

pepper

1 cup milk

1 can tuna

sliced bread

I used Texas Toast.  I had never heard of Texas Toast before I moved here.  So, if you’re like me, it’s a thick sliced white bread.  I normally would choose a much healthier bread.  I always try to make things as healthy as possible.  But, with this dish, the Texas Toast is perfect.

In a saucepan, melt the butter.  Add flour, salt, and pepper.  Whisk together over medium heat until slightly brown.  Slowly whisk in the milk until combined and smooth.  Bring to a boil for 1 minute.  Stir in the tuna.  Serve over toast.

If you want some color, you can add peas to the tuna.  You can also hard boil a few eggs, add the egg whites, chopped, and crumble the yolk over the top.  It would also be good over egg noodles.  Or for a little color, you could add some parsley.   …   This night I served it with pineapple chunks and corn and peas, because that’s all I had.  I think it would be better with a salad or green beans.  The pineapple was good.

