Every time I open a new container of oats, I think … cookies.

Usually, I use oats for oatmeal on chilly mornings.

Sometimes I bake with it.

But, a new container always says “cookies” to me.

I opened a new container this morning and said to myself  …  but out loud … because I talk to myself … but in a normal way  …  I said, “I should make some Cowboy Cookies.”

To which Texas Guy agreed emphatically.

I then thought to myself  …  but out loud … because I … Oh, we already discussed this, didn’t we?  …  I thought to myself out loud, “I don’t have anymore chocolate chunk pieces though.  I could just use chocolate chips.”

To which Texas Guy said something as he walked right out the door … and returned shortly after with a bag from the grocery store with items to ensure I can make his Cowboy Cookies with chocolate chunks  …  and pecans, just in case I needed those, too.

Cowboy Cookies are one of our most favorite cookies.  It’s a hearty cookie.  And it really is best with chunks of chocolate  …  and good-sized pieces of nuts  …  and old-fashioned oats.  This is not the time for tiny and delicate.

Enjoy!

Cowboy Cookies

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats

1 1/3 cup flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup chopped pecans

1 cup semisweet chocolate chunks

Preheat oven to 350°.

Cream together the butter and the sugars.  And the egg and vanilla extract and mix well.

In another bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt.  Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture until combined.

Stir in the nuts and chocolate chunks.

Shape into walnut sized balls.  Place 2-inches apart on cookie sheets.

Bake for 11 – 13 minutes.  Remove from pan and cool on a wire rack.

Makes 3 dozen

