Yesterday morning, I laid in bed for a few moments just watching my baby sleeping next to me.

As I was still waking up, her jammies reminded me of something.

Church Windows

Not church windows in a church.

The candy, fudge stuff we make around Christmas time.

So, I just had to make some … even though we’re still a few holidays away from Christmas.

By the time I got around to making them it was late so I just threw it together without much concern for the pics I would take later.  By the time they were ready to cut, I was ready to eat one … without much concern for the pics I would take first.  …  You’ll see what I mean in a minute.

They are easy to make … something the kiddos can help with, and older kiddos can do themselves.  And I love the way they look.

Enjoy!!

Church Windows

12 oz semisweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup butter

10.5 oz miniature marshmallows, pastel colored

7 oz sweetened coconut flakes

Melt the chocolate chips and butter together

You can do this in the microwave, a double boiler … or since I have neither, I make my own double boiler – place a mixing bowl on top of a pot with water in it, make sure the water doesn’t touch the bottom of the bowl.  Place the ingredients in the bowl and let the water simmer.

Let cool for 5 minutes.

Set out two sheets of wax paper, 12×18″ each.

Spread the coconut flakes out over both pieces of wax paper.

Fold marshmallows into the chocolate/butter mixture.

Place mixture on top of the coconut flakes in rectangles approximately 16″ long and 4″ wide.

With the long side of the paper, roll the mixture up tightly into a log shape.

Refrigerate for 4 hours until firm.

Cut into 1/2″ slices.

You could place it in the freezer to try to get cleaner slices.

Makes about 70 slices.

