Tags

, , , ,

When Fall begins and the weather turns cool (which it hasn’t here … I’m cranky about that … don’t want to talk about it) I love to start my day with a bowl of hot cereal for breakfast.

One of my favorites … good ol’ oatmeal.

I know oatmeal is nothing new to any of you.

But, it’s Monday morning.  And the baby is teething.  And my brain hasn’t had much sleep. So this is what’s on my mind at the moment.   …

So, let’s enjoy some oatmeal!

Good Ol’ Oatmeal

Everyone knows how to make oatmeal.  And if you don’t, the directions are on the container.  Simple!  I make mine a little different.  And I just love it.  So, I’m sharing it with you.

Good old-fashioned oats

Milk

Raisins

Dried cranberries

1/3 c total of dried fruit per serving

Dash of cinnamon per serving

Pinch of nutmeg per serving

Honey

Wheat germ

Using amounts shown on the oatmeal container, combine the milk (instead of water) and oats in a pot.  Add the raisins, dried cranberries, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Cook over low heat as directed.  When cooked, stir in some honey, wheat germ, and a bit more milk.

I like the old-fashioned oats best.  None of that quick stuff.  Really, it doesn’t save all that much time and I’m sure there’s something you can do for the few short minutes while it cooks.

I like milk instead of water, gives it a yummy, creamy flavor.

Raisins are a fantastic super food!

Cranberries are a fantastic thing to eat during the cold and flu season.  …  They’re very good for you.  …  I love the flavor it adds, it reminds me of Fall and the holidays.  …  And they look like beautiful jewels!

The nutmeg adds another fun Fall/holiday flavor and feel to my breakfast.

Honey is another fantastic super food  …  and, of course, it gives it a little sweetness.

Wheat germ  …  also very good for you.  (And if you have kids, always make sure they, are there to witness the opening of a new jar.  Every time.  It’s vacuum sealed, so the wheat germ at the very top spins around and it makes a great noise.  Open it quickly, the noise is louder and the wheat germ spins faster!  …  We find our fun where we can around here!)

I put it all in the pot at once and then cook it.  …  It makes the oatmeal creamier and lets the raisins and dried cranberries plump up.  Yumm!!

