Tags

, , , ,

Oh my goodness gracious.

My oh my oh me.

I have a recipe that I must share with you.

Cranberries, cranberries, cranberries!

They say Fall and Winter to me.

They are so brightly colored and beautiful.

Dried cranberries cooked up in my hot oatmeal sparkle like rubies!

Bubbling and popping open while becoming cranberry sauce, they are like a beautiful celebration in a saucepan!

And they are oh so very good for you!

Although this recipe, with the cream cheese, refined white flour and sugar, is not exactly healthy.  I won’t be surprised  when I start fiddling with it just a little to see if I can scootch it a little bit towards healthy.

But it is a great way to enjoy cranberries in more than just cranberry sauce at Thanksgiving.

Enjoy!!

Cranberry Cream Cheese Muffins

1 cup butter, softened

8 oz cream cheese, softened

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

4 eggs

2 cups flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups cranberries (fresh or frozen)

1 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350°.  Grease, or place paper liners into, two standard size muffin pans (24 muffins total).

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter, cream cheese, sugar and vanilla.  Add the eggs, on at a time, beating well after each one.

Now, just take a moment to admire all that butter, cream cheese, eggs, and sugar all blended together in a smooth, creamy, incredible thing of beauty that you just know will be oh so very delicious.  It’s incredible, isn’t it?  …  Now, get back to baking before your heart and arteries and love handles and doctor find out what you’re doing!

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt with a whisk.

I love using a whisk to combine dry ingredients.

Stir the dry ingredients into that amazing looking creamed mixture just until moistened.  Fold in the cranberries and pecans.

Divide the batter into the muffin cups.  They will be about 3/4 full.

Bake for 20-25 minutes of until a toothpick or tester comes out clean.

Cool for about 5 minutes before removing from pans to a cooling rack.

Yields: 2 dozen muffins

