Tags

Happy New Year!!

I know it started a couple of days ago.  But, I try not to blog on the weekends.  So …

Happy New Year!!

I hope you had a good time looking back on 2010  …  remembering all the fun moments and being grateful for all the blessings  …  recognizing what you have learned from all the struggles, challenges, or hard times  …  and seeing how you have grown and become better!!

Now, as we look forward to this new year, 2011, I hope you are so very excited!

Every day, and every moment, of our lives we have the opportunity to do what many of us do on New Year’s Eve or New Year Day – reviewing and looking forward.  Of course, the end of a year and the beginning of a new one is significant and a popular time to do these things.

But, if you’re like me and you haven’t yet, we still can!

How cool is that?!

And  …  of course, there are the resolutions.

Do you hate the idea?

Do you love it?

Do you think it’s a waste of time?  Or a fantastic tool?

I love the idea of resolutions!!

I don’t just love the idea, I love doing it!!

Over the years, I have set many resolutions.  Goals.

Some I have achieved, some I have not, some I have reassessed and changed along the course of the year and accomplished differently than I had expected.

OK.  When I sit down to do it, that’s not always when the “love it” part begins.

It means I am about to commit to something that will take effort, commitment, accountability to myself and maybe others.  It might require change and growth in myself.  The “love it” part of personal change and growth is sometimes after the hard work has taken place.  Who like the hard work?!?!  Ick.

And then there are those times when you sit down, paper and pen in hand, and come up with  …  nothing.

The “nothingness” of the paper can seem so very vast.

It’s not though  …  Let’s get started  …

I like to start with personal goals.  I review the different areas of myself: spiritual, intellectual, physical, … maybe even emotional.  Then I review my relationships with my:  spouse, children, family as a whole, parents, siblings, friends, etc.  (Whatever relationships you have at the time.)  Then there is work or business.

It’s not so difficult to look at each area and quickly realize what needs work or what I would like to see happen.  …  That’s the goal.

Then, I break each goal down from end of the year, to end of each month, to end of each week, to daily.  Some are just daily goals.  Some may be weekly.  …  You get the idea.

I make sure they’re all workable, doable goals.  I make sure I’m realistic about what I can do in a day or a week.

And, I think this last one is very important  …

I know why I’m setting these goals.  Each of my why’s are very important.

I will start exercising again.   …  Do I always feel like exercising?  Heck no.  But, I do it.  It might mean that I will grumble my way into my workout clothes.  It does mean that, sometimes, I will grumble my way into my workout clothes.  I know me.  But, I do it because my why is worth it.  I like the way I feel when I exercise regularly.  I like the way I look when I exercise.  I like knowing that I am doing one more thing to take care of my body.  (I would like it to be in good working order for as long as the good Lord let’s me use it.)

So, go ahead  …

Review 2010.  Relish in all that you have been blessed with or gone through.

Look forward to 2011.  Get excited by the possibilities.

Look at yourself, your relationships, and your life.   Find your goals.

Set those goals.  …  And lastly  …  don’t forget that why!!!

Write your why down.  Remind yourself daily of your goals and your why.  (Write it down and read it.  Cut out pictures and look at them. … You’ll think  of something.)

And when you don’t feel like doing what you have set for yourself, remind yourself of this phrase that I love:  Excuses are like … uuummmm … bellybuttons.  Everyone has one!!

I don’t know that that phrase gets my message across, but it’s a good one for me.  I get it.

That excuse will get me nowhere but where I am now.  If I want to reach my goal, I need to suck it up, quit whining, and then do it.

My other option is to give up.

Ick.

Whatever your goals are  …  go!  And don’t quit!  Keep trying!!  And have fun along the way!!!

With the goal in front of you the whole time, it is exciting!!

Happy New Year!!!

