Tags

,

21 years ago today,

shortly before 4 in the afternoon,

my first child was born

…  and I became a mom.

This little guy,

at just 8 lbs and 20 in,

brought about one of the most defining moments of my life.

He was perfect and adorable.

He smelled amazing, like newborns do, and had dimples that made me melt.

He was so very cuddly.

And because of him, I discovered how much I loved being a mom.

Though, obviously, he has a name, I can’t stop myself from using nicknames with my kiddos.

So, I called him Shorty.

He was the little man of the house.

At about 4 years old, I stopped calling him Shorty and started calling him Bud.

He was my little buddy, and without him, my world would not feel complete.

This nickname change turned out to be a good change because now,

at just over 6 feet tall,

he’s anything but a shorty.

Happy 21st birthday, Bud!

I love you.

~ Mom

*sniff sniff*

