Tags

, ,

Oh my, where has the day gone?!

I’m so excited to finally share this recipe with you!!

It never fails.  As I cook, I forget to write down what I’ve done.  Then when I want to recreate it or make changes, I can’t remember what I did in the first place!

But, here it is!  …  In writing!

Yay me!

This is the most deliciously moist, pumpkiny (not a real word) pumpkin bread adorned with a perfect crown of crumble topping … and it’s all just a little nutty (like me)!!

Oh I love it!

And everyone else has, too!

I hope you do, also!

Enjoy!

Crumble Top Pumpkin Bread

Topping:
1/4 c butter, softened
1/2 c brown sugar
1/3 cup oats
1/4 c flour
1 tsp Cinnamon
1/4 c chopped pecans

Bread batter:
2/3 c shortening
2 2/3 c sugar
4 eggs
15 oz can pumpkin
2/3 c water
3 1/3 c flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground clove
1 c chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350°.  Grease (with shortening) and flour 2 loaf pans.

Topping:
Mix all the topping ingredients together with a pastry cutter or a fork.  Set aside.

Bread:
In a large bowl, cream shortening and sugar.  Add eggs, pumpkin, and water and combine.

In a separate bowl, stir dry ingredients (except nuts) together with a whisk.

Add dry ingredients to large bowl and mix until blended.  Stir in nuts.

Pour batter evenly into the prepared pans and sprinkle topping on top.  Bake for 65 to 75 minutes or until wooden toothpick or tester inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool for 10 minutes.  Remove from pans and cool completely.

