Tags

, , , , , ,

The children know that I have a blog.

The ones that are under 18 do not read it.

For one thing, they don’t spend much time on the computer.  And they are limited with what they can do when they get the chance.

Reading my blog is not high on their list.

As a matter of fact, it might not be on the list at all.  They’ve never asked to see it when they have computer time.

But, they know about it because they see me typing it from time to time.

Because when they ask what I’m doing, I tell them.

And because they hear me say – Gracious!!  Look at the time!  I haven’t even blogged yet today.  Where does the time go?!

Last Friday’s post was long.

I was surprised, by the time I had finished and realized how long it was.  And I considered shortening it.

But, my time is limited.  So I left it as is.

I figured, if you haven’t abandoned me now, I might be safe.

By evening, when all was quiet, as I mulled over my day for a moment, I realized how cathartic that post was.  How freeing for me.   …   Likely, just in time for Spring and the heat of Summer which will likely bring on the bugs that have been low in numbers during the freezing cold temperatures of Winter.  But, I don’t want to think about that right now.

So, I fell asleep feeling better, having unloaded my bug issues on all of you.

(Thank you.  Please do not return them to me.)

The next morning, as I was trying to get through some paperwork, the girls were on day 3 of “clay play” when they called my name once again to show me their latest creation.

UUUGGGHH!!

And there I was feeling peaceful … and happy … and bug free!

Life can be so ironic sometimes.

I asked,  “Are the yellow things his teeth?”

“No, that’s food.  He’s eating.”

Apparently with his mouth full and open.  …  This spider has very poor table manners.  …  Well, that and the fact that he is sitting on the table while eating.

Bug or not … I can’t help but be impressed by their hard work and attention to detail and use of color.

“See that green ball on the end, Momma?  That’s his stinger!”

Alas, I admired their work a moment too long and became creeped out again.

ICK!!

One more for you ….

I was impressed by the tiny white spider eggs that Sweet Pea had made and then wrapped, leaving it open a little so viewers like her momma would know what was in there.

Again, as is typical of me, I have questions, and then I ask them … “What are the red things?”

“That’s POOP!!”

(lots of giggling from the girls)

They are wonderfully behaved young ladies, my girls.

However, they are still children.

And the word “poop” makes children laugh.

For as much as the world changes, generation after generation, I don’t think that will ever change.

I lost track of how many times I heard the word “poop” that morning.

I chose to ignore it, and fortunately it lost it’s appeal after a while.

During the day the girls added blue-spiked hair to his head, and smaller colorful spiders crushed under each of his creepy spider feet, and I don’t remember what else.  He was unrecognizable.

By the end of the day, the creepy, poorly-mannered spider met his maker  …  literally … when the girls balled him up into a big clay clump.

Thank goodness.

