Tags

, , , , ,

It’s Wednesday.

Wednesdays is when I plan my meals for the next week.

So, on Wednesdays, I have food on my mind.

And what’s on my mind goes here.

Thinking food, I wanted to share this recipe with you.

It’s Sweet Pea’s favorite.

Everyone in the family has staked claim on their favorites.  And this one is hers.

I’ve been making it forever.

It’s simple, easy, delicious, homemade, comfort food goodness.

And it was perfect on the cold, breezy day we had had.

And it’s fun.

Sweet Pea came in as I was putting the pie together and asked if I could put balloons on top.

Where her balloon idea had come from, I had no idea.

But, I was happy to oblige.

Over the years I have drawn more pictures, letters, and patterns into the top crust that I couldn’t remember them all if I tried.

So, I’m always happy to have suggestions.

And take a peek inside …

Oh, it’s so very delicious.

Let’s get started   …   Enjoy!!

Chicken Pot Pie

Preheat the oven to 375°.

Make the filling:

16 oz cooked chicken, chopped, cut into chunks,  or torn (whatever makes you happy)

5 oz frozen peas

5 oz carrots, cut and cooked

(Cut them how you wish, I like them kind of small, like the peas  …  they are fellow vegetables in this dish and I think they get along better when they are similar in size so no one feels out-of-place  …  I’m only kind of joking.)

1/4 cup minced onion

1 can Cream of Potato

1/3 cup milk

1/2 tsp thyme

Combine all ingredients in a big bowl.

Now make 2 pie crusts:

3 cups flour

1 tsp salt

1 cup vegetable shortening (or you could use unsalted butter)

6-8 Tbsp of cold water ( cold … brrrr!)

Combine the flour and salt in a bowl.

Add the shortening (or butter) in pieces.

Not one large clump, but the pieces don’t have to be tiny.  I don’t have all day here!  And you probably don’t either.  But, if you do, please don’t tell me.  I will be insanely jealous.

Using a pastry blender (or your fingers, or two knives if you don’t have a pastry blender), blend it all together so you have lots of small pieces.  Do this quickly.

Then sprinkle the water over it a Tbsp or two at a time and stir gently with a fork.  Repeat this process just until it will all form a rough lump, ball.  Don’t add to much, but enough so it holds together.

Dampen your hand with water and slide it over the counter, then place a piece of wax paper on top.  (The water holds the wax paper in place.)

Take half of the pie crust mixture and gently form a rough ball, then gently flatten it out a little to form a disk.  Place another piece of wax paper on top and roll it out with a rolling pin until it is slightly larger than the pie plate rim.  Take the top wax paper off (set it aside), picking it up by the bottom piece of wax paper, flip it over onto the pie plate and press it gently to lay inside the pan.  Using a fork, poke plenty of holes on the bottom and sides of the crust.

Put all the filling inside the pie crust.  (Pile it up!  Yummm!)

Usually I have to throw the bottom wax paper piece away but reuse the top one by wetting the counter top again and sticking the wax paper on it.

Then repeat, as with the bottom crust, with the remaining pie crust mixture.  Pick it up by the bottom piece of paper and flip it on top of all that yummy looking filling.  Crimp the edges together.  (For this pie, I fold the edges under and press it down with a fork at some sort of angle.  I like the look of the fork tines for chicken pot pie.  I can’t explain myself.  I just do.) Then have fun cutting a picture or pattern in the top crust with a sharp knife.

Bake for 45 to 50 minutes and until the crust is golden brown.

Serve it with a salad to complete the meal.

You can also use this filling recipe and  1 1/2 crust recipes to make four small pies.  (There will be some crust left over.)  Bake the smaller ones for about 30 minutes.

