Tags

,

Wow, I have missed you!!

My favorite time to write is in the mornings.

Lately, mornings have been for feeling pukey.

So, when I sit down to write to you, all I can think about is how pukey I feel.  And how, despite feeling pukey, there are children to care for and things to get done.  And how, listening to my talk about morning sickness for the next few months is going to be a real drag for you.  And then, you’ll just stop visiting with me.

So, then I think – I’ll try to write later, when I’m feeling better.  However, when I feel better I have lots to get done and plenty to catch up on.  Not that you’re not important, but my family likes food at mealtime and clean clothes and that sort of thing.

So, here I am, in the evening, when I feel tired but not as pukey.  This is also when my appetite returns for a short while and I’m tempted to eat like there’s no tomorrow.  Eeeekies!!

It’s warming up around these here parts.

And by warming up, I mean we are currently above average temperatures.  And by that, I mean I am dreading summer and it’s not even Spring yet.  And by that, I mean I am wondering if I can drive up to Oregon with the kiddos and camp in my sister’s backyard for the summer without her noticing.

But, I am enjoying these Summer nights – even though it’s not Summer, it’s not even Spring, and Summer nights will probably be less enjoyable in reality.  I love the way you can feel the air start to cool, the way the breeze moves through the house, through the open doors and windows, cooling each of the rooms off.  And the sound of the cicadas outside.  (I think it might be too early for cicadas, but they probably think it’s Summer.)

Anyway, the warmer weather has me thinking about Spring and Summer time foods, warm weather meals.  So, I pulled out my cookbooks, my recipe collections.

In one of my binders I found a large envelope.  I had stuck a bunch of loose papers in there from some old cookbooks my grandmother had given to me decades ago.  The cookbooks are from the late 50’s, early 60’s.  Some of the papers had come loose from the cookbooks, others were recipes she had saved from newspapers or store flyers.  And some of them were handwritten.

I love having those old cookbooks.  I’ve found many recipes that I use now, or have changed a bit and use now.  But, I think my favorite part of those cookbooks are the notes she wrote inside it on different recipes and the loose papers that fell out.

Going through those papers, the smell of my Grandma and her house began to waft up towards me.  It’s always fun for me when I can smell that familiar scent of my Grandma … her powder on her soft cheek when I would give her a hug or a kiss or just sit next to her … the smells of her home, her soaps, her kitchen.

I love her note “try” that I find so often in the cookbooks and on papers  …

…  the handwritten notes  …

…  blasts from the past, like the Campbell’s Soup Kids  …

…  and when was the last time you saw “oleomargarine” in a recipe  …

…  But, one of my most favorites, was this  …  the way she used straight pins to attach papers together.  For Grandma, I guess they weren’t just for sewing.

I’ve kept a picture of my grandma in my kitchen for as long as I can remember.  It sits on the counter near the cookbooks.  But, I was surprised today, while going through my cookbooks …

…  to find Grandma.   …  Hi, Grandma.  I miss you.

