Tags

, , ,

I have been wanting to share this recipe with you for at least a month!

But, lately, with morning (read: any time) sickness, when I’m able to think about food I usually need to take that opportunity to eat.   …  When I have time to visit with you, thinking about food probably isn’t a good idea.   …  I’m feeling sort of ok now, so here we go …

These are oh so very delicious!

My family really likes them  …

I like to make a batch, along with a baked bread, crumbcake, or muffins.   Then Texas Guy can grab one of these and a bread item and have breakfast on the go.   And, if I get the opportunity to sleep in, the girls can do the same and enjoy breakfast while I’m sleeping.   …  Does it get any better than that?

Well, I should say   …   an egg cup, a bread item, and a piece of fruit.  A perfectly balanced breakfast that is fast and easy!

These were also a hit at church.

They are a great grab-and-go, finger food kind of things.   …   Not that we don’t have plates, … or bowls, … or utensils … or   …   manners.  Oh, never mind.   …   And, they are easy to make so it’s not too difficult to make a whole bunch.

Well, let’s get to it!

Here it is   …   Enjoy!!

Ham ‘N’ Egg Cups

2 Tbsp vegetable oil

2 red potatoes cut into 1/4 in. cubes

Don’t peel the potatoes.  Just give them a scrub.  I almost never peel anything.  The skins and peels are good for you, and they add wonderful color, and you could spend your time doing something else … like keeping the baby out of the dog food container.  Oh, that might just be me.  But, I’m sure you have something better to do.

6 eggs

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Get a block of Parmesan cheese and grate it yourself.  It is so much better than those tiny sprinkle things.  (And though it costs more, it has much more flavor so you won’t need as much.  It’s oh so very worth it.)

12 slices thin sliced ham

Preferably ham slices that are round.  It just works better, and looks better.

Preheat the oven to 375°.

In a skillet, heat the oil over medium heat.  Cook the potatoes for about 5-7 minutes.  Sprinkle about half of the salt over the potatoes and cook for another 5-7 minutes.

In a bowl, whisk together the eggs, remaining, salt, pepper, and Parmesan cheese.

Spray a pan of 12 muffin tins.  Place one slice of ham in each cup.  Divide the potatoes amongst the ham cups.  Then pour the egg mixture over the potatoes.

The egg mixture may leak out any cracks in the ham slices or over the side of a slice if you’re like me.  Don’t worry about it.  It will all bake up yummy!!

Bake for 10 – 15 minutes until a tester or toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Makes 12 Ham ‘N’ Egg Cups

