Tags

, , ,

I’m having a miscellaneous kind of Monday.

Well, at least in regards to my thoughts.

Which is what I’m sharing with you here.

I blame my Sunday for my scattered and half finished (or at the least, abbreviated … short) thoughts on Monday.

Sunday starts with church.  Then we oftentimes go somewhere.

The problem is, I don’t usually get much or any advance warning from Texas Guy that we are going out for the day.

By the time I figure out what we are going to do, get all the children ready to go as well as myself, it is 2 in the afternoon.

Sometimes Texas Guy helps me.  Sometimes he washes his truck.

It makes for a long, busy, late day.

And, right now, being at the beginning of the pregnancy, I just don’t have the energy for it.

By the time we got to the park after dinner, my legs were shakey.

By the time we headed home, I was exhausted and pukey.

By the time we hit the curvy road, I was done for.

I was pukey all night long.

And today, the day after, I am tired and sick.

So, my brain … my brain is working with the bare minimum.

So, here’s what I wanted to share with you (don’t expect it to be important … or even make sense) …

This morning I found Bug wearing her sister’s dress  …  my hat on her head … and her parasol in her hand.

Inside the house.

Is this a flair for fashion … imaginative play … or a serious attempt to  avoid skin damaging rays from the sun?

I couldn’t tell you.

I’m just the Momma here.

I don’t know nothin’.

Moments later, I witnessed her sitting in a bowl and spinning around in circles.

The children have lots of toys.

By their own admission, they have more than enough.

But that doesn’t stop them from making toys out of ordinary objects they find around the house.

I don’t know what it means.

I’m just the Momma … Oh, I told you about this already.

Here’s my exciting news …

Not long after I moved here to “the great state of Texas”, I wanted some sourdough bread.

We always had sourdough bread in the house when we lived in California.

But, when I got to the super big store in town that has everything under one roof, there wasn’t any to be found.

Then, I looked while at the big grocery store.  None.

Week after week I looked.

I did finally find some.

But, sadly, it tasted like white bread, not even a hint of that sour sourdough flavor.

And it had a white bread texture – no hard crust, no slightly chewy inside.

Then, yesterday, while in the big city, we went to a grocery store that focuses on healthy choices.

And while we were there I saw sourdough bread.

Skeptical, yet hopeful, I picked it up … hard crust … and took a sniff at the open end of the paper bag … mmmm …  smells like sourdough.

This might not be disappointing.

I tried some this morning.

Toasted.  With just a little butter.

Mmmm … it was deeelicious!!

Then I noticed the brand on the bag  …

It’s from a bakery in California …

Just 3 1/2 miles from where I grew up.

Irony  … it tastes yummy, toasted with just a little butter.

