Tags

, , , , , ,

I want to post two different posts today.

But, I don’t want you to get tired of me.

And, sometimes I fear a day will come when I won’t have anything to blog about and will be forced to blog about the dirty spots on my carpet or the oddly thick fingernails I have been blessed/cursed with or my seemingly always neglected eyebrows or … something like that.  And then you might never visit me again.  And so then I decide I had better save a blog idea for another day.

So, I am choosing just one post for today.

Though, I can’t promise I won’t post the other one today as well.

I really want to!

But, let’s focus, shall we?!

(And by “we” I totally mean me.  But, you knew that.  Right?)

There’s just something about a girls’ daddy.

And I could go on about girls and their daddy.

But, I tend to like the tangents, and I always try not to drag you on to more than three in one single post.

But, specifically, for this post  …

There’s something bigger than life about daddys.

And how many of us girls have slipped our feet into our daddy’s big shoes.

They slip on so easily.

And with so much room to spare.

And it’s such a great visual   …  daddy’s shoes engulf our small feet, they surround our feet  …  the way we like to think daddy’s can protect us, like a buffer from the world.

And, though, at some age, we all know that is not entirely true  …  even as a grown up, it’s still nice to be able to slip on Daddy’s shoes and look at them on our feet.

My Daddy has a pair of Crocs.  I’m not at all sure how I feel about that.  But, I love slipping my feet into them.  They are huge!  Then I like to clomp around with those big shoes on.  …  And then all feels right with the world.

So, it’s no surprise to me when I look over and Sweet Pea has set the baby into their daddy’s boots.

And by “set her in” the boots, I mean exactly that.

They are actually too tall for her little legs.

But, she thought it was fun  … even if she was stuck there.

A few days later, Sweet Pea and Bug took it a little further.

I think Sweet Pea has that belt looped around her waist twice.

And then some!

See Bug’s “tough guy” look.   …   That’s the daddy influence on her.    …   And she’s trying to look like him.

(Don’t tell the tiny dark-skinned, dark-haired, Asian-eyed girl she’s a far cry from that big blond-haired, blue-eyed, white guy.)

But, wait …

…  they’re not done …

Haha!!

I was laughing so hard taking this picture I didn’t think I would be able to hold still long enough to capture a clear one!!

