Tags

, , , ,

I try not to overload you with recipes and I think I posted two earlier this week.

But, I have been celebrating Autumn in my kitchen lately.  And I am having such a wonderful time!!

With lots of Fall flavors and smells and deliciousness filling my home yesterday, this recipe (along with my Crumble Top Pumpkin Bread recipe) was requested by a few people.

I love the simpleness of this recipe.  It’s easy to make, it looks so beautifully simple when done – a simple pound cake, spiced up with the scent and taste of nutmeg that just sings Autumn-Winter-Holidays to me, all in the beautiful (yet simply easy) style of a bundt cake, decorated with a dusting of pure white powdered sugar!!

Does everyone get as excited of the appearance, texture, temperature, scent, and flavors of food as I do?  …  I hope so.  I’d hate to be unusually weird.  …  And I’d hate for others to miss out on all of this.

So, here it is for all of you to  …  Enjoy!

Nutmeg Pound Cake

2 ½ cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground nutmeg
¾ tsp salt
¼ tsp baking powder
¼ lb unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 ½ cup sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 ¼ cup buttermilk
1 tsp confectioner’s sugar

Preheat oven to 350°. Butter and flour a 12-cup capacity bundtcake pan.

Combine flour, baking soda, nutmeg, salt, and baking powder.

With an electric mixer at medium speed, beat butter and sugar until fluffy.  Beat in eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition, and then the vanilla.  On low speed, gradually beat in flour mixture in three parts, alternating with buttermilk.  Spread in pan.

Bake about 45 minutes or until a toothpick, inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool in pan 10 minutes.  Remove from pan and cool completely.

Put the confectioner’s sugar in a sieve and sprinkle over the cooled cake.

Yield: 12 servings

