Tags

, , , , , , ,

While I like to write in the mornings (it’s when my brain doesn’t function well, but it has no trouble visiting with you), I am dragging this morning.

It’s the day after Christmas.

Christmas is a busy day.

I would like to do absolutely nothing at all today.  But, with a new baby in the house, my productivity is lowered anyway.  So, there is stuff I need to do.

And do them I am!

(That is not a correct sentence.  I know this.  I just really really wanted to write it.  Then decided to leave it there.  Tomorrow, I will wish I hadn’t.  I will really really want to go back and delete it.  But, I won’t.  I will fight the urge!)

I woke up this morning and reviewed our Christmas day we had yesterday.

Why?

Well, it’s not a bad thing to do.  Christmas is a special day.  For many reasons.  (That wasn’t a correct sentence either.  Boy, I am going to have some regrets tomorrow!)  But, also because I woke up wondering why I was so tired, and why my left hip wasn’t working.

The tired is easy.  The day before, we drove to the city for last minute errands (of course).  We took the two youngest monkeys with us, as well as three bags full of toys, diapers, and changes of clothes.  As soon as we arrived, I fed and changed their diapers before hitting the first store.  I’ve been doing this mom-thing a long time.  I know what I’m doing.  And I know that shopping with happy children is key to my happiness.

While changing the new baby’s diaper, he peed all over me.  Now, let’s refer to my early sentences – “I’ve been doing this mom-thing a long time.  I know what I’m doing.”  I do.  It’s true.  And I had a small baby washcloth keeping him covered during the diaper change to avoid such happenings.  But, he was squirmy and had kicked it off and let loose before I knew what was happening.

In all those three bags, packed to keep us all prepared and happy while running errands far from home, I hadn’t packed a change of clothes for myself.  That’s not to say that I didn’t think about it.  I did.  Refer to earlier sentences: “I’ve been doing this mom-thing a long time.  I know what I’m doing.”  Then I decided not to.  I don’t even know what to say.  While sitting in the truck finishing the diaper change, I chastised my self silently for my poor decision.  Then decided to be positive about it.  It’s just baby pee.  It will dry, and then all will be fine.

I then fed the baby so that we could get our errands started.  And finished.  But, first, he spit up.  All over me.  More of a fountain-type spit up.  Something that would earn top marks from the judges in the Baby Olympics.  …  With a day of errands ahead of this sleep-deprived mom, as well as a night of present wrapping, and a busy Christmas day to follow, I reclaimed my efforts at a positive attitude and hopped out of the truck … into the freezing temperatures and falling rain.  My pants and shirt were no longer just wet, they were ice cold and wet. …  I’m so very very glad I’m the kind of person that likes cold temperatures and rain.  At least I had that working for me.

After running our errands in a sleep-deprived fog while worrying about Texas Guy and how close we were getting to his tolerance limit of both being in the big city and running errands, as well as trying to finish before his already injured back completely gave in, I changed diapers – again, fed the baby – again, and got covered in spit up – again.  …  Oh my.  What a day.

It was late by the time we got home.  We still had presents to wrap.  We were both tired.  And I was covered in pee and spit up (twice), felt nasty, and probably smelled pretty bad, too. …  Bring on the Christmas spirit!

It was 3 am by the time I wrapped the very last present and cleaned everything up.  (Elves and Santa, my foot!)  Thank goodness Texas Guy helped wrap presents.  Almost until the very end.  …  He even found a way to wrap presents using his pocket knife.  We do have scissors.  But he wouldn’t be Texas Guy if he didn’t use that big knife to cut the paper.  I wish I had taken a picture.  I really do.

That explains the tired.  The non-functioning hip … who knows.  Maybe I dreamed I had joined the circus and there were acrobatics involved.

Christmas Review ~ Part 2 →

