Tags

, , , , , , ,

← Christmas Review ~ Part 1

As I was saying …

The morning after Christmas, I woke reviewing the day.

Texas Guy had gotten upset with me and decided the middle of Christmas day was the time to discuss it.  …  I use the term “discuss” lightly.

And that was just the start.  By the time I fell asleep, I was pretty sure it was the worst Christmas I had ever had.

But, there were a few things that I observed during the day that I really enjoyed and appreciated.  And I wanted to share a few of them with you.

I just love (love love) being a mom.  There are so many things I love about it and many of those things were surprises that I discovered along the way.  This year, I have discovered a couple of new things  …

First …

Now that I have grown children that no longer live at home, I have found that there is something wonderful, amazing, and so full of the Lord’s blessings all wrapped up in the single, simple moment when they walk in the door … when they come back home.  I’m not sure how to explain it.  In that moment, my heart feels full, it rejoices, it soars, … and all at the same time it feels calm and centered.

Second …

I like to cook.  I really like to cook.   …   Also, I like to implement child labor – uh, I mean, I like to ensure that the children are fully capable of carrying out any necessary skills required to function as a human.  …  That’s what I meant.  …  Therefore, I teach the children to cook starting as toddlers helping where they can – safely.  I enjoy cooking with them.  And, once they’ve gotten quite capable, and their creations become edible and even tasty, I also enjoy having them cook for me!

This has never been more true than during the holidays.  We love getting together and feasting!  And I love cooking up said feast.  …  But, with a toddler underfoot and a new baby in arms, having them come into the kitchen and cook alongside me … it is, I have discovered, one of my new most favorite parts of the holidays!

Oh my gracious, I can’t tell you how much I love that!

And third  …

Is simply this … I am so proud of my Baby Girl and her guy.  And I just thoroughly enjoy them both.  It makes having them come home so wonderful.

The moment they walk in the door … well, I rambled about that already.  Seeing them dressed so nicely for the occasion.  (It doesn’t hurt much that they bring my adorable grandbaby with them.)  Having them cooking in the kitchen with me, and even taking over when I’m busy.  And the way they work as a team …

… at having fun and to make me laugh.

They’re good for my heart.

