Tags

, , ,

← Bread! Mmmmmm, Bread!

OK, here’s the rest of my raving about the cookbook I recently bought …

Like I mentioned before, I bought this cookbook …

I absolutely LOVE it!

It was their first cookbook and so I really wanted to try it first.

I figured it would be good to start there … learn the basics.

Plus, it was the book I have been wanting since the year 2007.

(I have trouble letting goals go and dreams die.  Seriously.  …  And I can’t even try to convincingly tell you that I think that’s a good thing.   …   I also absolutely cannot start a book series anywhere but with the first one.  Can’t do it.)

But, in 2009, this book came to exist …

And if you know me, you KNOW that this cookbook is what my heart yearns for!

Did you read the subtitle?!

100 New Recipes Featuring Whole Grains, Fruits, Vegetables, and Gluten-Free Ingredients

Every time I see that I just want to SING!

(Fear not, I won’t.)

I haven’t had a chance to use any of the recipes yet.  But I am oh so very excited!!

I took the cookbooks out of the box they were delivered in   …  rubbed off any smudges with a soft clean towel   …   admired them, front and back   …  flipped through the pages – quickly and then slowly  …  smelled the new books   …

Don’t pretend you don’t do it, too.

Or that you don’t love that new-plastic-toxic smell when opening something new.

Or that you didn’t l.o.v.e. the smell of freshly printed ditto sheets in school.

Or … maybe that’s just me   …  disregard those last few lines  …  I don’t know who that was   …   Weirdo.

OK, so, anyway   …

I wanted to share with you which items I purchased to use with the recipes.

(The book and their website has suggestions as well.  And they are the pros, after all.  I’m just sharing here because I’m really happy with these things.)

I got this container rather than the taller cylindrical shaped ones because it fit better in my fridge based on the way I have my fridge organized.

(That’s normal, right?  Having an organization system for the refrigerator.   …   Right?)

I also like it because I had read that combining the ingredients for the dough can get difficult and I have no trouble with this.  I think that’s because the dough is not deep, but rather, shallow and spread out.  …  I’m sure it’s not impossibly difficult.  But I like things to be easier if possible.  Also, I like to avoid aggravating my carpal tunnel issues.

Like I said, I chose this one because it fits in the spot in my fridge that I wanted to use for the dough.

It’s also the right size (capacity).

And wanted something that was BPA free.

(Here’s a link in case you want more details … Frieling Emsa container)

Now   …   the baking stone.

(I bought one that arrived broken – completely.  I was told that it was best to drive over an hour to the nearest store to return it in person.  When I did, I was promptly reimbursed – everything but the shipping cost.  I was given a number to call to try to get that reimbursed as well separately, but was told that they may not reimburse me.  …  Oh, Target.  I love shopping there.  But returns for online purchases have always been a ridiculous ordeal.   …  But, I had a gift card.  And I don’t live a hop, skip, and a jump from one of their stores.)

So, here’s the one I bought.  That arrived in one piece.  And works great.

This is the back/bottom of it.

(Here’s the link  … Old Stone Oven baking stone)

And, lastly, I wanted to share this …

This is my favorite spoon to use to combine ingredients.

It’s because of the large, rubber grip on the end. Makes it so very very easy!

Sadly, I can’t tell you where to get one.  Texas Guy brought it home.

But, it gives you an idea of what to look for.

I would like to get a pizza peel, also.

I think it would be helpful.  But, it wasn’t necessary for trying out the recipes first.

So, if you want to bake your own bread.  If you’re not great at it.  If it’s too time consuming for you.   …  You can now!!

Happy baking!!

Happy eating! 😉

